My Week in NYC Part 1

Hey guys! Finals week is over WOOHOO! My boyfriend and I had our last final on the very last day of finals week at 2:30 pm. And by then…the entire campus was dead. But after a long drive we finally made it to NYC! I will be staying here for about a week to celebrate Eric’s (my boyfriend) birthday.

So while I am here I will be blogging about all of the amazing restaurants, shops, boutiques, etc that I find here in NYC. I’ve only been here about 2 days, and I already have so much to talk about!

David’s Tea

This cute little tea shop is on 275 Bleecker St (between Jones St & Morton St) in Manhattan in the West Village. They were having a special for Mother’s Day where they were giving away free tea to any mothers. So sweet!

But this place was so adorable. They are reasonably priced, and they have an amazing selection of teas. Some of the standouts I saw were Pumpkin Chai, Ice Cream Cake, Strawberry Shortcake, and … Swampwater? Yuck-a-doo.

When you walk in, the shop resembles a bar with dozens and DOZENS of teas for you to choose from. And the workers let you choose whichever tea you want and smell them (which explains why we ended up staying so long!)

If you are an extreme tea-lover who wants high-quality tea for a reasonable price, David’s is the place to be. They even sell their own tea accessories like tea sets, pitchers, infusers, mugs, you name it!

Jekyll & Hyde

Now this was not your typical Mother’s Day. When Eric’s parents told me that they were taking us to a place in West Village that is the exact opposite to what you’d expect for a Mother’s Day brunch, they weren’t kidding. When you enter, it looks like someone’s haunted house in October.  It actually took me aback for a second, because what can I say? I’ve always been a little scared during Halloween season. The brunch was delicious and they made these HUGE plates of incredible pancakes, french toast, and egg omelets that really hit the spot. The fun part about this place is that while you are eating, all of the spooky displays around you come to life and turn your meal into a performance. It really gives the place a campy-scary feel. They even have a performer (who differs every single day) who comes dressed in character, and performs little skits and interacts with people at the tables while they eat. (A little awkward at times, but hilarious to watch).

Peanut Butter & Co.

Peanut_Butter_v1_460x285

Eric took me here on Monday for lunch…and I expected it to be just a little diner-type place that served the standard peanut-butter sandwiches. But I was wrong…

…they make the ULTIMATE PEANUT-BUTTER SANDWICHES.

I had what they call ‘The Elvis’ which is a toasted peanut-butter sandwich with bananas and honey. This place is so cute, because the seating is reminiscent of a mother’s kitchen. Very quaint and relaxing. They serve your food to you with a bag of potato chips and some carrot sticks…just like Mama used to! And lemme tell you…I am normally not one for peanut-butter sandwiches, but this tasted SO GOOD. I highly recommend this to anyone around in the Greenwich Village area.

In addition, they have desserts GALORE. Check out this Peanut Butter and Chocolate Pie

Oh sweet Mama…

They also sell their own peanut butter and peanut butter products. Last time Eric was here over Spring Break, he brought me back Peanut-Butter-Coconut Peanut Brittle. He knows me so well!

Shake Shack

If you can’t already tell, this NYC trip so far is a bit of a detox from our disgusting excuse for college dining hall food. Very much needed…

If you go to Madison Square Park, you’ll surely find this modern take on the roadside burger stand. They specialize in ShackBurgers (UNBELIEVABLE), hotdogs, frozen custard, beer, wine, and MORE! The food quality is unmatched, and it is situated in the best possible setting – Madison Square Park! Once your order is ready, you can pop-a-squat at one of the park’s tables and enjoy the wonder of the ShackBurger. Trust me…you REALLY want to go there. It is so worth it.

Well, that’s it so far for Part 1 of My Week in NYC. I’ll be here until Sunday morning, so I have plenty of time to travel around the city and find all sorts of fun places to show you guys!

As always, have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

