My Week in NYC Part 2

Hey guys!

My week in NYC was absolutely amazing… but alas, now I am back in good ol’ Massachusetts where the weather is nothing but rainy.

But the rest of my week in NYC was splendid! The weather was gorgeous throughout the week, which made my next few adventures a lot more enjoyable!

Cafe Reggio

“The Home of the Original Cappuccino” is such a cute little cafe for a quick, authentic Italian coffee. The environment is very much inspired by the coffeehouses in Italy, with beautiful paintings and sculptures that resemble famous works by Italian artists. It has been around since 1927 and is one of the most popular cafes in Greenwich Village, so it is definitely a must when you visit there.

Siggy’s Good Food

sgf-pic

This little restaurant in Brooklyn is home to cuisine that is 100% organic and made with only pure, clean & whole foods ingredients. (Since I am a health-food fanatic, this place definitely spoke my language). They get their ingredients from local farmers to ensure its freshness, making their food not only healthy but DELICIOUS! They also accommodate for all sorts of dietary restrictions, including vegetarian and gluten free. Even their wine and beer is organic!

Eric and I just had some of their “Snacks” for lunch, but they were SO GOOD. I had Quinoa and Spinach cakes topped with an organic salsa, while Eric had a hummus dish with ciabatta bread. Let me just say, whatever was in that hummus…it was magical!

Brooklyn Heights

Ahhhh, the Brooklyn Heights Promenade. Where do I start? This third-of-a-mile stretch is a pathway on the edge of Brooklyn that gives you a picture-perfect view lower Manhattan, South Street Seaport, the East River and the Brooklyn Bridge. It was such a gorgeous day, the sun was shining, not a cloud in sight, and I must say…it definitely makes for a really romantic spot. 😉

High Line

Again with the romantic pathways… Last January when I came to NYC, Eric took me to the High Line, which is a 1 mile long linear park that was originally a section of the former elevated New York Central Railroad which runs along the lower west side of Manhattan. Since it was in the middle of winter, the plants that gardens were a little lack-luster. I was promised that in the summer, the High Line gardens would be brought to life…and it definitely was. Eric and I walked along and I was amazed at how much the gardens had grown since my last visit and how much more alive the pathway had become. More and more businesses and food carts have been placed along the Highline, allowing for passersby to grab a quick coffee or yummy fro-yo as they continue on their path.

The flowers are simply gorgeous…I REEEEEAAALLY recommend it.

I’m really going to miss NYC…it is one of my favorite places in the world. The city that never sleeps. But after a long 4-hour train ride, I’m happy to be back home. But now…I must organize my upstairs…I still haven’t organized my crap from my move home from college, YIKES!

As always, have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

